Sarah Kirk Illustration


Coffee and Pride & Prejudice
October 22, 2009, 2:40 pm
Filed under: SKETCHES & DEVELOPMENT | Tags: , , , , ,

New project! Quite a challenging project.. I’m planning to design, illustrate and make 3 dresses inspired by novels, starting with Pride and Prejudice. Got very excited at doing something which involved lots of reading, and was really new and different, and then realised how much work it would be as we have to have it finished by Christmas. And as Jane Austen’s books are pretty much just social situations, I can’t really get away with not drawing people which is definately not my strong point. I’m going to have to practise a lot I think.. I always seem to make their noses too long.

But anyway I had quite a lot of fun drawing people in the canteen today, trying to not to be too obvious in staring at them. Then I had a bit of an accident and ended up experimenting with drawing with the coffee. Here are some possible Elisabeth Bennets:

Pride and Prejudice Coffee Drawing 1

Pride and Prejudice Coffee Drawing

Pride and Prejudice Coffee Drawing 2

Pride and Prejudice Coffee Drawing 3

The drawing of the girl below is my favourite and probably someone close to how I would imagine Elisabeth looks like, with wild pinned back hair and strong but pretty features. Possibly need to rub out the post-Victorian era headphones. And find a Mr Darcy.

Elisabeth Bennet?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

